Strike Out Diabetes!

Oh my gosh, have I have a major senior moment!!  As I was writing about all the activities that the Silly Hats and Caps have been up to, I realized that I had totally forgotten to tell about our very first event!

Silly Hats & Caps was created around April of last year.   We had started meeting every Tuesday morning for breakfast and  we had been talking about what we might be able to do to help spread awareness of Diabetes, the need for a cure and how we could bring more people with diabetes together (as you know, there is strength in numbers!).

One morning I got a phone call from my girlfriend and she asked me if I had seen the  latest GROUPON offer!  I hadn’t, but I went to my computer and opened it while I was on the phone with her and there it was!   A great opportunity for a low cost get together, a 2 for 1 bowling package and a really great deal.  So each of us 3 original Silly Hat & Caps couples,  bought 2 groupons and we were on off and running!

From the very beginning of our family’s “D Journey” the name of our family walk team has been “Strike Out Diabetes”.  Strike out as in baseball, but hey…it works for bowling too!

Our local chapter shared the details of our event in their newsletter and posted it on facebook and we, of course, shared the date with our friends and family.

The day finally came…we took our groupons, our helium balloons, some JDRF literature and off to the bowling alley we went!

I’m sorry to say we didn’t have one person other than our 3 families show up for the event…but boy did we have fun!

All three of us Silly Hats & Caps couples had 3 generations represented!!  How very cool is that!! Us grandparents, our children and our grandchildren had a blast!

And in addition to that, what made it all worthwhile????  We’d been bowling about 20 minutes and a man had seen our JDRF balloons and came over to ask about our group.  He approached my daughter in law and said “I saw the balloons..you’re with JDRF? We’re having my son’s birthday party here…my son has Type 1 .”   That was her opening for further dialogue!!  She introduced herself to him and his wife, met the birthday boy and shared with them, her story of living with a child with Type 1 Diabetes.   Robby  met them as well, and told the family how diabetes has not held him back from doing anything he wants, including playing college baseball at a division 1 school!  He and his mom also told them what an important role JDRF has played in our lives since his “D”iagnosis!

Our first official event and we were able to achieve our goal…Have fun while laughing, chatting and helping spread awareness of Diabetes and the need for a cure!  And in addition, we were able to introduce another family to JDRF!!

1 Comment

Filed under Advocacy, Grandchildren, Silly Hats & Caps, Uncategorized

One response to “Strike Out Diabetes!

  1. Jan Woolford

    It doesn’t always go how we plan.
    But. . . this event was exciting.
    We did have a chance to talk with some (curious) people in the bowling alley, and tell them about JDRF with our “Silly Hats” on.

Leave a Reply

