D-Blog #1 Admiring Our Differences

Since I was introduced to the DOC a little over a month ago, I’ve not found many (in fact, I haven’t come across any)blogs by grandparents of anyone with diabetes of any type.

That means that every post I read from each and every blogger is coming from a different perspective than mine.

I do not have of diabetes.   I am not a parent of a child or adult with diabetes.   I am not a spouse of a person with diabetes.  I am not in the medical field.  But I am the grandmother of a wonderful young man with Type 1 Diabetes and I desperately want to do what I can to help make his life easier until a cure is found!  I want to understand how his body works without a useful pancreas and I want an insight to what he might be feeling, but not sharing with us.  I want to make sure that what I say and do, will be a benefit, not add to his struggles that come with living with this disease that never lets you let your guard down or let’s you take a day off!

I have learned that sometimes, no matter how hard you try, or what you do,  your bg #’s are not going to cooperate!

I  have learned that what works for great bg #’s today might not (and probably won’t) work tomorrow.

I have learned that there is no good type of diabetes.

I have learned that many in the medical field have a lot to learn about diabetes!

I have been reminded that our children with diabetes, grow up to be adults with diabetes.

I have learned that the Diabetes Online Community (DOC) is made up of some very incredible men and women willing to share many of their struggles and innermost thoughts about diabetes and living with it.  They do this so that no one suffering with diabetes, of any type, will ever have to feel alone, they do this to enlighten those of us who do not have diabetes and along the way, they have made friendships that will last their lifetimes!  They do this day in and day out, through bad times and through good times.

I have learned that what you say can stay with someone a lifetime.

I have learned that effects from a single high or one low can impact your body for days…not just hours.

I have learned the incredible power of social media.

I have learned about the band, Blunt Lancet!

I have learned about the unicorn!!

and the power of a cupcake!!

Thank you all so very much for making this grandma feel a part of this most inspiring community!!!

You are all my HEROS!

6 Comments

Filed under D-Blog Week, Diabetes online Community

6 responses to “D-Blog #1 Admiring Our Differences

  1. Every single voice is important and offers valuable insight, but you are correct in that yours is unique being one of the only (if not THE only) D-Grandparent Blogger out there in our community. Thank you for what you do for your own and this community. Thanks, too, for the photo shout-out of me standing there in my brown suit with those incredible, inspirational fellow D-Advocates most recently in D.C.!

  2. My mother blogged for awhile…I think she began to feel disconnected, busy with life, and eventually stopped. I’d love to see her pick it up again. We’re far apart, and I always loved reading her blog.

    Her name is Lana.

    http://grandma2sweetgirls.blogspot.com/

    I found your blog via the DBlogWeek linky.

    Nice to “meet” you 🙂

    • It’s so nice to meet you too! Thank you for sharing your mom’s blog site and yours as well. I see that your daughter has celiac disease as well. My grandson, and reason for my passion, also has celiac disease, in addition to thyroid disease. I am looking forward to visiting your site often.

  3. The smile on my face after reading this post actually hurts! YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!

  4. And you are my hero!!!!! I can’t tell you how much I admire you for doing everything you can to help your grandson and understand what he is going through. My grandmothers have both been gone for a long time, and we never really talked about what my diabetes meant to them. I know seeing things through your eyes and reading what you share will help me understand them a little bit better.

Leave a Reply

