Set Free

I started my morning reading a beautiful post from Our Diabetic Life in 3D titled ” Diabetes is a Sailboat”.  http://www.ourdiabeticlife.com/2011/07/diabetes-is-sailboat.html  It’s a story about how having a child diagnosed with diabetes is like putting your child in a sailboat and watching him set sail alone on the high seas.   Meri is a fantabulous  writer and mother of 4 boys, 3 of  them have Type 1 Diabetes.

And after I cried through Meri’s post, , I visited my facebook page….one of my “friends” Melinda had posted a link to a beautiful youtube video about one family’s struggle to set a young whale free from fishing nets.

As I watched that video, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBYPlcSD490&feature=share

I couldn’t help but relate Meri’s blog and the Fishbach family’s challenge of freeing the whale, to the challenge that all the men, women and children who have diabetes also struggle with.  Just as this whale was trapped in the fishing net, they are tethered to diabetes.   As new and better treatments are discovered, it cuts away at the net and allows them a small taste of what it’s like to live life without diabetes, but until the entire net is removed they will struggle to manage their disease and will not be truly free.

I hope and pray that I will live to see the day when my grandson and all of you, who so bravely battle day in and day out,  can  live without needles and pumps and tubing and meters and testing blood sugars and highs and lows and complications from this crappy disease and can breach and tail slap and fin slap, (or dance and sing and shout, if you prefer)  just as the whale did when it was freed!

3 Comments

Filed under Grandchildren, Hope and Health, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Set Free

  1. So very beautiful! I’m honored to be included in such a touching post!

  2. We all dream of the day to cut all the nets. This is amazing and beautiful.

  3. Camille

    What a beautiful essay, Jeanne. I’m so glad to have you advocating for a better life and a cure on behalf of our loved ones.

Leave a Reply

